Stricter Rules for New Teen Drivers

Licensing changes

I have a daughter who is 13 years old and I’m wondering if she’s
going to be able to get her driver’s license at 16 or did the state
of California change the law to 18 to get a license?

Licensing changes

“I have a daughter who is 13 years old and I’m wondering if she’s going to be able to get her driver’s license at 16 or did the state of California change the law to 18 to get a license?”

Red Phone:

Beginning Jan. 1, young drivers will face tougher safety rules. The new Graduated Driver’s License law recently signed by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, put tighter restrictions on young motorists’ nighttime driving and their ability to transport other young passengers without an adult in the vehicle.

Next month, young drivers who have had their provisional licenses for less than a year will be prohibited from driving between 11pm and 5am. In addition, the law requires young drivers to have their license for one year before they will be allowed to drive passengers younger than 20 without an adult over age 25 in the vehicle.

Persons under 18 may not be employed to drive a motor vehicle alone. When you become 18, the provisional part of your driver’s license ends. You may continue to drive as an adult using your photo license, which will expire on your 5th birthday after the date you applied.

Teens still need to have a permit first, and they can apply for it at 15 1/2 years of age.

Before being eligible to take the driving test you must: Be 16 years old; Have held your permit for a minimum of six months; Have completed driver education; Have completed 6 hours of professional driver training; AND Have completed 50 hours of practice with an adult 25 years or older.

According to California Insurance Requirements, you will be asked to show that you are properly insured before the driving test begins or the driving test will be postponed. After you pass your driving test you will be issued an interim license valid for 60 days until you receive your new photo license in the mail. If you fail your driving test, you must wait two weeks before you can take the test again. You have three chances to pass.

The above information and more can be found at the Department of Motor Vehicles Web site, www.dmv.org.

Let’s have a contest …

“I just want to comment that every night I come home from work down Santa Teresa, I’m overjoyed to see the crew has planted at least another 10 plants over the previous day. I think what we should do to honor these folks with the sweetheart contract is to have a contest between PG&E, Caltrans, the crew of this contractor and the city employees who told us this would only last a couple of weeks. Let’s see who can really do the least in the most amount of time. Thank you.”

Red Phone:

It knows you are upset about this, but Red Phone got a good chuckle out of your comment. Thanks for calling. Do note that the landscaping project is 75 percent complete, according to Gilroy’s Steve Beams, and is set to be completed this month.

Leave your comments