WATER POLO: Boys league awards announced

WATER POLO: GHS girls notch two league wins, boys split

Three local prep athletes honored with league awards
League awards for boys water polo were announced Thursday and Christopher High junior Brandon Irby and Gilroy High junior Michael Shields were named to the Tri-County Athletic League’s Second Team.

Shields was also the recipient of the Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Award, given out to one player from each team in the league.

Junior Octavio Cisneros was selected as the sportsmanship award recipient for the Cougars.

Varsity Boys Water Polo – 2010 TCAL League Awards

TCAL Most Valuable Player

Brian Morton, Senior, Salinas

TCAL Coach of the Year

Aaron Gaily, Carmel

First Team All-TCAL

Ben Evered, Senior, Carmel

Brady Hopkins, Senior, Carmel

Jay Louis, Senior, Carmel

Ben Price, Junior, Carmel

Jacob Bassetti, Senior, Salinas

Chris Hunsdorfer, Junior, Salinas

Brian Morton, Senior, Salinas

Trevor Agan, Senior, San Benito

Nick Angulo, Senior, San Benito

Beau Bayless, Junior, Stevenson

Tucker Forbes, Junior, Stevenson

Connor Stuewe, Senior, Stevenson

Second Team All-TCAL

Alex Degregori, Junior, Alvarez

Emilio Eizner, Junior, Carmel

Joe Hamwey, Senior, Carmel

Ben Regan, Senior, Carmel

Brandon Irby, Junior, Christopher

Michael Shields, Junior, Gilroy

Casey De Leuw, Sophomore, Monterey

Matt Nutall, Junior, Monterey

Nick Yeo, Junior, Palma

Nick Leighton, Senior, Salinas

Ethan McDaniel, Senior, Salinas

Josh Shaffer, Senior, San Benito

TCAL Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship Award

Hugo Lopez, Junior, Alvarez

Ben Regan, Senior, Carmel

Octavio Cisneros, Junior, Christopher

Michael Shields, Junior, Gilroy

Conner Fowler, Sophmore, Monterey

Jacob Gumke, Junior, Palma

Jake Verania, Senior, Salinas

Tyler Ruether, Junior, San Benito

Beau Bayless, Junior, Stevenson

Lawrence Choi, Senior, Watsonville

Leave your comments