HOOPS: CHS and GHS girls players honored with postseason awards


CHS’s Tabron, Gilroy’s Hill and Sosa earn first-team selections
from respective leagues. Five others honored.
Sophomore Hanna Tabron carried the weight of the Christopher High girls basketball team’s offense on her shoulders, and she rarely buckled.

Tabron, who averaged 15 points per game this season, was selected to the Monterey Bay League’s First-Team.

Breaking out of a mid-year slump, Tabron anchored the Cougars’ first-year varsity program to three straight wins to close out the regular season, posting monster games against Monte Vista Christian (23 points, 20 rebounds) and Monterey (18 points) in back-to-back outings.

The forward posted double-digit scoring efforts in 17 of the Cougars’ 22 games, taking nearly half of the shots on offense.

Joining Tabron on the list of postseason honorees for the Cougars are scrappy point guard Haylee Peterson – Second-Team All-MBL – and Merrett Brown, who received honorable mention recognition.

When your name is chanted during home games, it’s usually an indicator that your presence is needed.

Chelsea Hill was used to hearing her name chimed by the Gilroy High student section. And rightly so. Anytime Hill was on, the Gilroy High girls basketball team usually had control of a game – 22 wins worth.

Hill along with leading scorer, junior Michelle Sosa, were tabbed with Tri-County Athletic League First-Team honors.

Opposing defenders usually hounded both Sosa and Hill, two to three at a time. Yet the duo managed to still average double-figures, Hill with 10 points per game and Sosa with 12 for the league champion Mustangs.

The team’s 3-point specialist, senior Ashley Lambert, garnered Second-Team accolades along with junior forward Ashlee Williams.

Lambert, who hit three treys in the Mustangs narrow loss to Gunn in the Central Coast Section semifinals, sank a team-high 24 shots from beyond the arc this season.

Williams was a constant presence on the boards for Gilroy and also provided another go-to personality inside.

Dani Hemeon earned the Richard Chamberlin Sportsmanship award. Tim Jones received Coach of the Year honors.

Leave your comments