GOLF: Mediate set to defend Open title at CordeValle


Tournament officials announced Tuesday, the PGA Tour veteran,
who holed one eagle in each of the four rounds, has committed to
defend his title, as the Fall Series event returns to CordeValle
Oct. 3-9.
With an eagle on the par-4, 17th hole to lift him to the eventual tournament title, Rocco Mediate wowed the gallery on a soggy final round of the 2010 Open at CordeValle Golf Club.

Tournament officials announced Tuesday the PGA Tour veteran, who holed one eagle in each of the four rounds, has committed to defend his title as the Fall Series event returns to San Martin the first week of October.

The list of players who have already committed to participate includes Keegan Bradley, fresh off a thrilling playoff victory in the PGA Championship last weekend, among six 2011 tour winners: Chris Kirk (Viking Classic), Scott Piercy (Reno-Tahoe Open), D.A. Points (AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am), Brendan Steele (Valero Texas Open), Jhonattan Vegas (Bob Hope Classic) and Johnson Wagner (Mayakoba Golf Classic).

Other big names include Bo Van Pelt, ranked 35th in the World Golf Rankings; Tommy Gainey, No. 36 on the PGA Tour money list; David Duval, a 13-time PGA winner and 2001 British Open champion; Spencer Levin, ranked 22nd in the 2011 FedEx Cup standings, and 2009 U.S. Open runner-up Ricky Barnes.

The Oct. 3-9 Open will have a full 132-player field, with a $5 million purse and $900,000 payout to the champion.

Players have until Sept. 30 to commit to play.

An alphabetical list of the players who have already committed to play.

Blake Adams

Joe Affrunti

Briny Baird

Ricky Barnes

Cameron Beckman

Rich Beem

Shane Bertsch

Matt Bettencourt

Kris Blanks

Jason Bohn

Steven Bowditch

Keegan Bradley

Joseph Bramlett

D.J. Brigman

Alex Cejka

Greg Chalmers

Kevin Chappell

Brian Davis

Marco Dawson

Brendon de Jonge

Chris DiMarco

James Driscoll

Joe Durant

David Duval

Bob Estes

Steve Flesch

Tommy Gainey

Robert Gamez

Robert Garrigus

Bobby Gates

Tom Gillis

Fabian Gomez

Andres Gonzales

Scott Gordon

Nathan Green

Scott Gutschewski

Hunter Haas

Todd Hamilton

David Hearn

J.J. Henry

Mark Hensby

Jim Herman

Justin Hicks

Charley Hoffman

Ryuji Imada

Lee Janzen

Richard S. Johnson

Matt Jones

Sunghoon Kang

Jerry Kelly

Bio Kim

Chris Kirk

Kevin Kisner

Colt Knost

Derek Lamely

Michael Letzig

Spencer Levin

Frank Lickliter II

Bill Lunde

Jarrod Lyle

Will MacKenzie

John Mallinger

Ben Martin

David Mathis

Troy Matteson

Scott McCarron

William McGirt

George McNeill

Matt McQuillan

Rocco Mediate

Troy Merritt

Shaun Micheel

Zack Miller

Joe Ogilvie

Rod Pampling

Carl Paulson

Cameron Percy

Tom Pernice, Jr.

Tim Petrovic

Martin Piller

D.A. Points

Aron Price

Dicky Pride

Alex Prugh

Michael Putnam

Brett Quigley

Fran Quinn

Jeff Quinney

Chez Reavie

Jim Renner

Tag Ridings

Chris Riley

Alexandre Rocha

John Rollins

John Senden

Nate Smith

Paul Stankowski

Brendan Steele

Will Strickler

Chris Stroud

Daniel Summerhays

Vaughn Taylor

Josh Teater

Roland Thatcher

Michael Thompson

Chris Tidland

Peter Tomasulo

D.J. Trahan

Cameron Tringale

Jerod Turner

Marc Turnesa

Bo Van Pelt

Jhonattan Vegas

Johnson Wagner

Charles Warren

Matt Weibring

Charlie Wi

Dean Wilson

Leave your comments