Filing deadline extended to Wednesday

Voting signs

The filing deadline for Gilroy residents to run for Gilroy City Council and the mayor’s seat has been extended until Wednesday, Aug. 15.

The deadline extension does not apply to incumbents.

As of Monday afternoon, five candidates have been approved to run for three City Council spots, and three candidates have been approved to run for mayor.

So far, the five Council candidates are current Council members Perry Woodward and Cat Tucker, former Councilman Paul Kloecker, current planning commission chair Terri Aulman and community advocate Rebeca Armandariz.

According to the Santa Clara County candidate website, Luann Mansean pulled paper work to run for Council but has not yet filed.

Councilmen Dion Bracco and Peter Arellano have been approved to run for mayor, as well as Don Gage, Santa Clara County water district board member.

Leave your comments