GOLF: Open awards another sponsor exemption

Former Augusta State All-American Patrick Reed has been awarded a sponsor exemption into the next week’s Open at CordeValle Golf Club, tournament director Jeff Sanchez announced Wednesday.

Reed led Augusta State to NCAA championship titles in 2010 and 2011, becoming the first university to repeat in 25 years, according to a press release issued by tournament officials.

Also entering the field this week are former PGA Tour tournament winners Stuart Appleby, Stephen Ames, Jason Bohn, Ben Crane, D.A. Points, Heath Slocum, Johnathan Vegas, Gary Woodland, Charles Howell, Robert Allenby, Andres Romero, Chad Campbell, Ryuji Imada, Tim Herron, Billy Mayfair and Rod Pampling.

Players have until Friday at 2 p.m. to enter the tournament, which begins with the first round Oct. 11.

Leave your comments