Three Gilroyans on county grand jury

County grand jury

The Honorable Patricia M. Lucas, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara, has announced the names of the final candidates for the 2017-2018 Civil Grand Jury. Judge Lucas has selected three members from the 2016-2017 Civil Grand Jury to serve a second term. They are Nigel Johnson (Gilroy), Richard Spencer (San José), and Peter Hertan (Los Gatos), who has been appointed Foreperson. The new Grand Jury will be selected at the Impanelment Ceremony, today, Thursday, June 22, 2017. Sixteen names will be drawn from the list of 27 finalists, to complete the 19-member panel of the 2017-2018 Civil Grand Jury. They will serve a one-year term, ending June 2018.
The Discharge Ceremony of the 2016-2017 Civil Grand Jury and the Impanelment Ceremony of the 2017-2018 Civil Grand Jury, will occur today, June 22, 2017, at 4:00 P.M. in Department 17 of the Old Courthouse, 161 North First Street, San José, California. 
The Civil Grand Jury, as part of the judicial branch of government, is an arm of the Superior Court. It serves as the county’s civil watchdog and has the authority to examine all aspects of county and city government, school districts, and special districts. 
2017-2018 Santa Clara County Civil Grand Jury Finalists
1.            Peter Hertan (Los Gatos)
2.            Nigel Johnson (Gilroy)
3.            Richard Spencer (San José)
4.            Arthur Anderson, III (San José)
5.            Philip Anthony (Milpitas)
6.            Jeffrey Aristide (Los Gatos)
7.            Marcella Bellicitti (Los Gatos)
8.            Jacquelyn Caldwell (Gilroy)
9.            John Coleman (San José)
10.          James Davis (Sunnyvale)
11.          James Frizzell (San José)
12.          James Glancey (San José)
13.          Henry Groth (Santa Clara)
14.          Denise Hildenberger (San José)
15.          Idell Hunter (San José)
16.          John Klobe (Saratoga)
17.          Michael Krey (Campbell) 
18.          Frank Maitski (San José)
19.          David Morris (San José)
20.          Harry Oberhelman (San José)
21.          John Pedersen (San José)
22.          Al Peponis (Morgan Hill) 
23.          Howard Pomerantz (Los Gatos)
24.          Jacqueline Rupp (Los Altos)
25.          Ravindra Savanur (Cupertino)
26.          Georgine Scott-Codiga (Gilroy)
27.          Neelam Wadhwani (Milpitas)
28.          James Weber (Campbell)
29.          Lawrence William (Los Altos Hills)
30.          Glenn Yamasaki (Saratoga)

Leave your comments