Nominations open for June primary election

File photo

If you have ever considered running for local office in Santa Clara County, now is your chance.
Monday kicked off the nomination period for the June 5, 2018 Statewide Primary Election. The nomination period ends on Friday, March 9, but can be extended to Wednesday, March 14 for contests where the eligible incumbent doesn’t file.
Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters Shannon Bushey urged candidates running for office to call the Candidate Services Division at (408) 299-8639 or come into the office in order to review forms and requirements for  successful filing.
“There is no leeway in the filing deadline,” Bushey said. “It is always best to file nomination papers as early as possible so that any incorrect forms may be corrected before the filing deadline, which in most cases cannot be extended.”
The following federal, state, and county offices are up for election in 2018, which means there will be June primaries, and runoff elections for the top two finishers in November.

  • Governor
  • Lieutenant Governor
  • Secretary of State
  • Controller
  • Treasurer
  • Attorney General
  • Insurance Commissioner
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • State Board of Equalization, District 2
  • U.S. Senator
  • U.S. Representative District 17 (incumbent Ro Khanna)
  • U.S. Representative District 18 (incumbent Anna Eshoo)
  • U.S. Representative District 19 (incumbent Zoe Lofgren)
  • U.S. Representative District 20 (incumbent Jimmy Panetta)
  • State Senator District 10 (incumbent Bob Wieckowski)
  • State Assembly District 24 (incumbent Marc Berman)
  • State Assembly District 25 (incumbent Kansen Chu)
  • State Assembly District 27 (incumbent Ash Kalra)
  • State Assembly District 28 (incumbent Evan Low)
  • State Assembly District 29 (incumbent Mark Stone)
  • State Assembly District 30 (incumbent Anna Caballero)
  • Santa Clara County Supervisor District 1 (incumbent Mike Wasserman)
  • Santa Clara County Supervisor District 4 (incumbent Ken Yeager)
  • Assessor (incumbent Larry Stone)
  • District Attorney (incumbent Jeffrey F. Rosen)
  • Sheriff (incumbent Laurie Smith)
  • Judge of the Superior Court, 24 offices

District 1 Supervisor Mike Wasserman, who represents Gilroy and Morgan Hill, said he intends to run for reelection.
“It’s been my privilege to represent South County on the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors,” Wasserman said. “I am seeking reelection in June 2018 and have been honored to receive a strong outpouring of support from local leaders in education, public safety, business, agriculture, and community members who share my passion for improving our county.”
While the City of Gilroy won’t participate in the June primary, several elected offices will go before voters in November.
Four of the seven Gilroy City Council seats will be up for reelection later this year, including Vice Mayor Daniel Harney, Councilman Peter Leroe-Munoz, Councilman Dion Bracco, and newly appointed Councilwoman Marie Blankley.
Additionally, four of the seven seats on the Gilroy Unified School District Board of Education will be up for reelection in November, including Board President Linda Piceno, Member Heather Bass, Member Patricia Midtgaard, and Member Jaime Rosso.
Candidates are encouraged to make an appointment and begin the nomination filing process as early as possible to ensure all paperwork is completed and submitted on time.
For more information, contact the Registrar of Voters’ Office at (408) 299-VOTE or toll-free at (866) 430-VOTE, or visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here